Posted by: duncanrust | March 8, 2007

Second Life Ageplay Policy Change

Today, I got a notice form the group “Second Life Children” a group who’s administrators are making an effort of make it accepted for “being a child or teen in Second Life” However, when I logged on to day, I got a group notice from this SLC group:

Lindens wag finger at Child AV’s

The Lindens have officially made a statement about their stance on Child AV’s in SL. XXXXXX got a visit from a linden today who gave him the attached note card. Specific Named Place does comply with community standards, but other places are not and will be shut down by the investigating lindens. Of particular note “Any account asserting an age that does not meet Second Life’s minimum age of eligibility will be closed.” so make sure friends that you make a note in your profiles that you are over 18!!

There was note card attached to this group notification that stated:

Dear Second Life Resident:

Linden Lab would like to inform you that your land or business is possibly not in
compliance with Second Life’s Community Standards. The depiction of sexual
activity involving minors may violate real-world laws in some areas, and the
Second Life community as a whole has made it clear that it views such
behaviourto be broadly offensive. Linden Lab chooses not to allow the
advertising or promotion of age play or related activities in any public
forum — including in-world textures, classified ads, the Second Life
forums, or parcel descriptions.

Advertisements, promotions, or descriptions of such activities must be
removed to avoid account sanctions. Any account asserting an age that does
not meet Second Life’s minimum age of eligibility will be closed.

Linden Lab

I resent the note through my Duncan’s Rust Home group. I got an IM from one of the members of my group, doubting the statement, because there was no word about this in the Linden Blog. However, he managed to get hold of one of the lindens, and with his permission, I copy – pasted the spell checked conversation we had.

[2:50] Other Person: I’m talking to a linden at the moment
[2:50] Duncan Rust: I am curious
[2:50] Other Person: It is a valid note
[2:52] Duncan Rust: and what about being a teen or child? any word on that?
[3:00] Other Person: they have no intention of banning kid or teen av’s
[3:02] Other Person: from the linden that showed up in my house: What is meant by “asserting an age”? … this essentially >>> restates our policy of requiring age verification for Main Grid >>> accounts claiming to be under 18, and of permanently banning those >>> accounts which persistently make such claims.
[3:02] Other Person: I told him that we would love to see something in the blog concerning this and from a Linden source
[3:03] Duncan Rust: thanks
[3:04] Other Person: there’s a couple linden that hang out on my dad’s island. One just visited me 🙂
[3:04] Duncan Rust: cool
[3:04] Duncan Rust: thanks, also in name of me
[3:04] Other Person: he’s a Brit liaison
[3:06] Other Person: only thing I can say would be kids need to bug the lindens to spell out the policies and quit using XXXXXX as a Kid AV spokesman.
[3:06] Duncan Rust: true
[3:06] Other Person: maybe a Linden that is a kid av…a kid liaison
[3:07] Duncan Rust: Hehehe.. I would be first for apply for a job.. I still need one *chuckles*
[3:07] Other Person: me too 🙂
[3:08] Duncan Rust: just give me broad band, a good pc, and decent salary, and I am happy *chuckles*
[3:08] Duncan Rust: thanks..
[3:08] Other Person: no problem. I hate rumour. I go on fact
[3:08] Duncan Rust: mind if I (your name stripped) use parts of this conversation in my blog?
[3:08] Duncan Rust: true
[3:10] Other Person: there’s a meeting today with the lindens concerning this. but yes, that would be fine. just no names.
[3:10] Duncan Rust: of course not.. …
[3:10] Duncan Rust: no names
[3:12] Other Person: I just sent this to the Linden I chatted with: one last comment, just a suggestion from the lil people 🙂 Would be a great idea for LL to maybe have liaison (a linden) that is a kid that could be the authoritative source for keeping the kid av’s informed. Thanks again, I’m off to work RL and as always appreciate your assistance 🙂
[3:13] Other Person: well I’m off Duncan. Have a great day there. 🙂 cya round 🙂
[3:14] Duncan Rust: cya

So in short, the new policies say:
1. Don’t advertise or otherwise promote or show ageplay openly.
2. Make sure you state that you are a legal adult (if you are one) in your profile


Leave a comment

Categories